Donna Yates, Move 2 North Georgia.net: An Inspection of Home Inspections - Do They Matter? North Georgia Blue Ridge Mountains

An Inspection of Home Inspections - Do They Matter? North Georgia Blue Ridge Mountains

Is a home inspection really necessary?  Who should order a home inspection; home buyers or sellers?  Let's take a closer look at what a home inspection can do for buyers and sellers:

  • Provides a visual examination of the structure, major systems (heating and air), walls, flooring, plumbing, electrical, roof, decks and more

 

  • Home Buyers can have peace of mind when the purchase of a home is contingent upon the findings of a home inspection.  Include a home inspection clause in the written offer if not already a standard clause.  This allows the Home Buyer to renegotiate the purchase price or "opt-out" of buying the home.  Also, if specified in the inspection clause, the cost of repairs can be the seller's responsibility.

 

  • Sellers retain control if they order a pre-inspection before listing their home.  This helps eliminate any surprises after an offer is made which could potentially jeopardize the sale.  Also, a pre-inspection gives the seller the chance to disclose any adverse conditions up front.  Another advantage of a pre-inspection will help potential buyers who might not be sure about buying a particular property make up their mind to go ahead with an offer.

Realtors can provide buyers and sellers with a list of certified home inspections.  Be sure you use a certified inspector.  The advantages mentioned above are just a few reasons why home inspections matter.  Continue to read more about the importance of home inspections and the major reasons to have one written by home inspector, Dale Baker.  Updated December 2, 2007.

 


Donna Yates, Realtor
North Georgia Blue Ridge Mountains
706-633-0644 cell
donna@ellijay.com
www.move2northgeorgia.net

 

 

 

Donna Yates
Associate Broker, GRI
706-633-0644 Mobile
Serving North Georgia Mountains and Metro
Metro Brokers - Better Homes and Gardens Real Estate
706-515-7500 Office

MOVE 2 NORTH GEORGIA - HOMES FOR SALE

SEARCH GEORGIA HOMES FOR SALE

 

 

 

 

Comment balloon 11 commentsDonna Yates • July 04 2007 06:14PM

Comments

I have a blog I wrote a while back called "Home Inspection, the cheapest insurance policy you will ever buy" and I send it to every buyer that even starts to question not getting an inspection.

Inspections are very important to the home buying process and everyone should get one.

Posted by The Friendly Home Team, Brokers - Oregon / SW Washington Real Estate (Realty Pro Oregon, LLC) about 10 years ago
Todd:  Thank you for reading my post and leaving a comment.  I am going to read yours now.  I think it's important for the public to know just home necessary these are.
Posted by Donna Yates, Blue Ridge Mountains (BHGRE - Metro Brokers) about 10 years ago

This is really cheap insurance for a seller also a redon test is great insurance too.... would save me some headache in a current deal...

Best in Business, Charles

Charles McDonald
REALTOR, Licensed to sell Real Estate in the Commonwealth of Virginia
http://www.mycharlottesvilleagent.com/     http://www.mycharlottesvilleblog.com/
"Whatever your mind can conceive and believe, it can achieve." - Napoleon Hill

please subscribe to my blog by clicking here. 

Posted by Charles McDonald, REALTOR®, Blogger, Principal Broker®, Owner (Charlottesville Real Estate Solutions) about 10 years ago

Todd:  I've tried to search your blog by title and didn't find it, so I tried a couple of other ways and still am not finding it.  Could you send me the link?  I would really like to read it.  I read a couple of your blogs where you mention home inspection but the blog itself was not about home inspection.  Thank you for your comment.  I have since written another one which was later than this one and I think is much better.  I appreciate your thoughts.

Charles:  You and Todd both mention cheap insurance and I admit, I have never thought of a home inspection that way, but you both make an excellent point.  I'll remember to tell my buyers that from now on.  Thanks for you comment.

Posted by Donna Yates, Blue Ridge Mountains (BHGRE - Metro Brokers) about 10 years ago
Donna - Tell your "Sellers" it is cheap insurance. They can do it prior to listing and have all problems solved including radon...
Posted by Charles McDonald, REALTOR®, Blogger, Principal Broker®, Owner (Charlottesville Real Estate Solutions) about 10 years ago
Great post,  when I've started looking around it seems more and more agents are recommending getting a home inspection before the seller puts the house on the market.  It really makes since, especially since it helps the seller keep more of their money, even if their is problems, they can have time to get realistic quotes instead of inflated last minute quotes that I have seen when they're gotten by the buyer.  The house is still the house no matter who gets the inspection buyer or seller.  You're also right about it helping the buyer go ahead and make an offer, they feel like all the problems are already noted sothe houses that are pre-inspected sell quicker.  We also offer a 90 day home warranty for our clients so that just adds to their comfort level.
Posted by Atlanta's Home Inspector, David Lelak IHI Home Inspections, Experience the IHI Difference (IHI Home Inspections 404-788-2581) about 10 years ago
David:  I think it is very smart for a seller to spend a few hundred dollars for a home inspection which could save them thousands later and make for a much faster sale, especially in the current market.  Thank you for your comment.
Posted by Donna Yates, Blue Ridge Mountains (BHGRE - Metro Brokers) about 10 years ago

Howdy Donna

Very will written post about home inspections. Being a home inspector I have done several bolgs about having, why two have one, and ect.

Heres a link to one of them  http://activerain.com/blogsview/213294/What-really-matters-on

Have a good one

Dale

 

 

Posted by Dale Baker, New Hampshire Relocation Real Estate Information (Baker Energy Audits and Commercial Properties Inspections) almost 10 years ago
Very good post Donna! Especially these days when lots of folks are trying to buy bank owned properties with no disclosure and as is.
Posted by Keith Perry, REALTOR - West Metro Atlanta (Coldwell Banker) almost 10 years ago
Keith and Robin:  This is one of my earlier posts so thanks for digging it out.  I appreciate your comment.  I think it's important for seller's to continue to have a home inspection done upfront.  Seems like it could make for a faster sale and save a lot of headache and possible heartache later.
Posted by Donna Yates, Blue Ridge Mountains (BHGRE - Metro Brokers) almost 10 years ago
Dale:  I'll check out your link next.  I do wish sellers would give more consideration to having an inspection done upfront.  Thank you for your comment.
Posted by Donna Yates, Blue Ridge Mountains (BHGRE - Metro Brokers) almost 10 years ago

This blog does not allow anonymous comments